Skip to content

My Revenue Model – Just to be Clear!

6th December, 2008

It’s not easy being a blogger you know. You have to be receptive. You have to listen, learn. You have to feel the pulse of other well-to-do blogs. And link to them. But most importantly, you have to form an opinion. All bloggers have an opinion. Nobody wants to read random rants or “i love this new Britney-album” type crap. Nobody wants to waste their time.

Yet the audience is all that you have. They’re your customers, you must satisfy them. You see, I have a revenue model in mind. And you’re very much a part of it.

The Revenue Model

Step 1.

I have to start off humble and small. Sure, I defected from the “collaborative blogging model” at Wordalicious to start afresh. But I want to capture a market that goes beyond just my friend circle. Yup, you got that right, I’m not going to write about any Britney-album type posts. I’m also trying to capture a new market segment, using my skills at the great Bloginglish language to get me through!

Step 2.

Then I’ll start engaging myself with the HBCs. Umm …  you know, the Hardcore Blogging Community. Those guys/girls who are really in the thick of it – active content, fresh community, lots of views, and obviously, lots of clicks. They’re committed to their side-job, making life a little more interesting by provoking a little more thought.

Step 3.

Once that happens, I’ll start monetizing. There are plenty of options out there(read: ads) – I’ve got to make the right choice between intrusiveness and effectiveness of the various options available! (More about that on my next post …)

Consider this my business. And I’m going to invest my time, and nurture it to grow. And I have to market myself well – I got myself a cool tagline (yup, I know!), and will definitely work on the design.

But work on content gets priority, design comes second. If people actually bought books purely on their cover, then Aravind Adiga would have been sold out!

(Oh wait – it is!)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 7th December, 2008 10:52 AM

    design is very important as well.. look at apple.. i know its a very tangential comparison but the thought is there

  2. 2nd February, 2009 3:01 AM

    🙂
    It helps to genuinely want to yap about.

  3. kranium256 permalink*
    2nd February, 2009 8:49 AM

    aahh .. well .. dont think that will be too much of a problem! hehe!

  4. 16th May, 2013 12:13 AM

    What have you got against Arvind Adiga/The White Tiger?? Or was that sarcasm…?

    • 16th May, 2013 8:04 AM

      I never quite understood the hype behind it – I found it pretty blah. What did you think?

    • 17th May, 2013 8:29 PM

      I randomly came across it in a used book store last September… I liked it as it vaguely reminded of The Death of VIshnu..which I loved!

    • 17th May, 2013 8:44 PM

      Oh I haven’t read that! Pushing it into my book queue 🙂

    • 17th May, 2013 9:05 PM

      Ever read Brahma’s Dream by Shree Gatage? Just as good as Death of Vishnu if not better ..

Leave a Reply

