Skip to content

Notes About Delhi – I

9th November, 2010

The Delhi Metro logo

Currently residing in a city called Delhi, I am. Observing, then snickering, and laughing, and commenting, I am. Jot these down, I must.

(Yoda-speak for the uninitiated. Star Wars for the un-uninitiated. Yet-another-guy-thing for the super-un-uninitiated.)

Have a lot of disparate things to say, so I’ll just jot them down in an ugly stream of numerically-labeled bullet points. Really ugly.

  1. Some Delhi roads are clean, flanked by usable sidewalks, and have well-maintained flora and fauna in-between the dividers. Starting from the time I was born on this earth, I have never seen such a sight. It makes you feel proud. It moves you. Trust me.
  2. The trip from the domestic airport terminal to my parent’s home, measured gate-to-door, is exactly 17 minutes. It’s difficult to comprehend, I know, especially for someone like me, coming from Bangalore (1 hour and 35 minutes from door-to-gate in a cab).
  3. A famous school nearby has an upcoming Founder’s Day. Practice sessions start at 8:00 am everyday. Their speakers are so loud and their practice so repetitive that the songs used for their show are now engraved in my head.
  4. Also, one Mr. Aditya Lal was being scolded continuously for not standing straight, and not flapping his hands correctly. I feel bad for him. He suffered from a very public humiliation.
  5. My dog, one day, as we were returning late night, growled and barked and tore his lungs out at the beggar on the street. Dogs can detect untrustworthy elements. Consider this as proof.
  6. The Delhi Metro has mildly changed the general uncouth attitude that Delhi is known for. Seriously. People stand in queues at Rajiv Chowk to board the Metro, people get up for ladies and elders to sit. Inching closer to Mumbai-type ‘civility’, if that is a word.
  7. The Delhi Metro is full at 9:00 pm. A passenger joked that the only trains that are comfortable are the first and last ones of the day.
  8. Google Maps does not suggest the Metro routes yet. In Chicago they do a damn good job of mixing bus routes, the El (metro) routes, and the Metra (train) routes together. Google, I hope you’re listening.

More bits and pieces, with a little bit of salsa on it, to come in the next blog post!

I shall part with a ‘very Delhi’ quote I heard after a long time:

Ki farak penda?

– Kartikay

18 Comments leave one →
  1. 9th November, 2010 5:39 AM

    I just realised I had bookmarked your blog, and I wondered why. Until I read your post, and realised that your writing is super interesting. Will be back to read more!

    • 9th November, 2010 11:55 AM

      Surely you’re joking, Mr. Feynman?

      Thanks for the encouragement! Incidentally, I’m prowling through your blog and loving every pixel of it! I’m hoping you write a fiction book, and that I get a signed copy of it 🙂

      Thanks for dropping by – and hope you drop by more!

  2. 9th November, 2010 7:50 AM

    Maybe you should do a nice post like this on Bangalore also? Well, Delhi is very interesting, I must say. You keep writing about it, and making me more curious. Not good 😛

    Interesting post..

    • 9th November, 2010 11:57 AM

      I would like to consider myself as a double-edged sword. If I start writing about Bangalore and it’s Namma Metro and it’s ‘swanky’ and ‘global’ pot-holed roads, I won’t stop.

      Also, don’t come to Delhi yet. Maybe in another 5 to 10 years 🙂

  3. 9th November, 2010 8:09 AM

    I think you get Metro routes on the DMRC website. These founder day rehearsals are a pain-for students, teacher and now I know neighbours as well!

    Is Aditya Lal humming….we don’t need no education?

    • 9th November, 2010 12:01 PM

      I got a pamphlet for the Commonwealth Games with a Metro map at the back 😛

      And as I’m typing this comment, a teacher at the above-mentioned school is screaming into the mic: one .. two .. three .. step .. vaary guudd .. okay .. one .. two .. ADITYA LAL!

      Poor poor chap.

  4. 9th November, 2010 9:56 AM

    Hmmm….

    • 9th November, 2010 12:03 PM

      Sounds like you intend to punch me in the face. Understandable!

  5. Delhizen permalink
    9th November, 2010 12:02 PM

    Oh! Don’t we all juz laave Delhi!! and and and.. ‘ Ki farak penda?’ is one of my all time fav dialogue’s

    • 9th November, 2010 12:23 PM

      Haha!! I’m hearing it after a long long time!

  6. 9th November, 2010 12:38 PM

    I can’t help but imagine you in Aditya Lal’s place for some reason. Thats the face I put on the name. 😀

    • 9th November, 2010 12:52 PM

      Either way, you should feel pitiful 😀

  7. 9th November, 2010 2:38 PM

    It’s always good to read about apni Dilli! Yup, a lot of roads are cleaner now post CWG.

    • 10th November, 2010 12:26 AM

      Hehe! Well well, I guess it does take time but this city has it’s charm!

      Thanks for dropping by, Restless!

    • 13th January, 2011 3:12 PM

      You welcome 🙂

  8. 19th December, 2010 1:24 AM

    That was one fenny read 🙂
    Living in Bangalore myself, and having visited Delhi recently..you absolutely beamed my thoughts in point # 2 🙂

    Ki farak penda
    heard after reallllly long time 🙂

    • 20th December, 2010 8:01 AM

      Thank you S!

      Let me guess let me guess: Stayed in Delhi for a while and now residing in Bangalore? You need both sides to understand the pain of Point #2!

  9. 20th December, 2010 7:36 PM

    Bingo!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

